About Us
Inductees Menu
The TBHOF Museum
THBOF On-line Store
2005 Banquet Information
Contact Us
Lone Star League Home
Lone Star Round Up
TBHOF Announces 2008 Inductees

The Texas Baseball Hall of Fame is proud to announce our 2008 inductees. This year we will be honoring MLB stars Kevin Bass, Enos Cabell, Julio Franco, Craig Reynolds, and Mike Scott; Hall of Famer Eddie Mathews, and Negro League star Bill Foster. In addition, the Jimmy Wynn "Toy Cannon" Award for community service will be presented to Houston philanthropist Jim "Mattress Mack" McIngvale.

TBHOF Inductees

Kevin Bass — A switch-hitting outfielder who combined power and speed, Bass began his 14-year MLB career in 1982 and played for the Astros from 1982–89 and 1993–94. In 1986, he lead the Astros to the NL West championship with an All-Star season that included 22 steals and career highs of 20 homeruns, 33 doubles, 184 hits, and a .311 average.

Enos Cabell — A 15-year MLB veteran, Cabell played for the Astros from 1975–80 and 1984–85. His overall best season was in 1977 when he hit .282 with 68 RBI, a career-high 36 doubles, and 16 homeruns. He stole more than 30 bases every season from 1976–79, and set a then-club mark with 195 hits in 1978. He started 149 games at third base for the 1980 NL West Champion Astros.

Julio Franco — One of the most prolific hitters to emerge from the Dominican Republic, the 23-year MLB veteran began his career in 1982 and played for the Rangers from 1989–93. A five-time Silver Slugger and three-time All-Star, Franco’s career totals include 2,586 hits, 407 doubles, 1,194 RBI, and a .298 average. In 1991, Julio led the AL with a Rangers-record .341 average, collecting 201 hits, 108 runs, and 36 steals. In 1993, he reached base in 46 consecutive games.

Craig Reynolds — The two-time All-Star shortstop began his 15-year MLB career in 1975, and played 11 seasons with the Astros from 1979–89. Reynolds led the NL with 12 triples in 1981. He also led the league in sacrifice bunts three times, with a high of 34 in 1979 and a career total of 124. Craig was a part of the Astros’ first two NL West championships in 1980 and 1986.

Mike Scott — Known for his dominant split-fingered fastball, the three-time All-Star played a total of 13 years in the Major Leagues from 1979–91, including the last 9 with the Astros (1983–91). In 1986, Scott’s league leading 2.22 ERA, 306 strikeouts, and 5 shutouts earned him the NL Cy Young Award, and his dramatic no-hitter clinched the NL West championship for the Astros.

Bill Foster (deceased) — A southpaw with a good fastball, devastating change-up, and pinpoint control, Foster was one of the best pitchers in the original Negro National League for much of its 12-year existence. In 1926, he won both ends of a crucial doubleheader to clinch the pennant for the Chicago American Giants, and he posted a 1.27 ERA in the World Series. He was the leading vote-getter and winning pitcher in the inaugural East-West All-Star Game in 1933.

Eddie Mathews (deceased) — A feared left-handed slugger, Mathews walloped more than 30 round-trippers nine years in a row. In 1953, his 47 homers led the NL and set a record for third basemen that would last 27 years. In 1967, as a member of the Astros, Eddie became the 7th player in MLB history to hit 500 homeruns, finishing his career with 512. He also won two World Championships, and was the first athlete featured on the cover of Sports Illustrated.

The Jimmy Wynn “Toy Cannon” Award

Jim McIngvale — “Mattress Mack” is a Houston-grown phenomenon who knows how to “Save you money today!” In 1981, Mack and his wife Linda started Gallery Furniture with $5,000 and a dream. This triumph can be attributed to Mack’s “do-whatever-it-takes” approach to pleasing the customer. His strong work ethic is matched by his philanthropy and exceeded only by the commitment he has to his family. "The Toy Cannon" Jimmy Wynn, Houston’s first home run star and member of the TBHOF Board of Directors, will present the award personally. Wynn’s own contributions to charity are the reason the Toy Cannon Award was created to honor baseball people who give back and pay forward to the community in meritorious ways.

The 31st annual Texas Baseball Hall of Fame induction banquet will be held in Houston on Friday, November 7, 2008. Sponsorships are currently available. Table and ticket sales will begin later this summer, so stay tuned to www.TBHOF.org for updates. For sponsorship information, please contact TBHOF Executive Director, George Scroggins.

The Texas Baseball Hall of Fame is dedicated to preserving history by procuring information and artifacts that tell the story of Texas baseball; recognizing and celebrating the achievements of those men and women who made significant contributions to Texas baseball history; and promoting and supporting programmatic events that link generations—past, present, and future—to enhance and perpetuate passion for the game of baseball. The TBHOF is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, and all contributions are tax-deductible to the extent allowable by law.


This site was designed for the TBHOF by Debb Harris